In spectacular fashion, Audi took all the top podium spots at the historic 24 Heures du Mans (24 Hours of Le Mans). Not that this is something new considering their performance the past few years but it is still worth noting that the 2012 edition of the race was won by the No.1 Audi R18 e-tron quattro, the hybrid that also took Pole position this year. It was a competitive race in the beginning with the Toyotas challenging the Audis, but as the hours dragged on, it finally took its toll on the Toyotas causing all of them to retire before the end of the race. From that point onwards, the Audis were basically racing themselves. The margin at the finish was just 1 lap between the first two Audis with the 3rd Audi finishing 3 laps down.
As the No.1 Audi R18 e-tron quattro of Andre Lotterer, Marcel Fassler, Benoit Treluyer took the chequered flag at exactly 3PM Le Mans time, Audi Sport today secured their 11th victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Breaking up the Audis, and finishing in fourth place after a display of amazing consistency and reliability, was the No.12 Rebellion Racing Lola Toyota of Neel Jani, Nicolas Prost, Nick Heidfeld.  Rounding out the top six was Le Mans newcomer JRM Motorsport whose No.22 HPD ARX-03a was in the reliable hands of former winner David Brabham, Peter Dumbreck and Karun Chandhok, the first Indian to compete in the 80th installment of the Circuit de la Sarthe classic.

A notable mention on the innovative technology project operating under the ‘Garage 56’ banner in 2012, the Nissan DeltaWing, did not finish the 80th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans due to accident damage, but it wasn’t for want of trying. The SR-71esque racer retired after completing 303 laps and has been classified as having finished in 52nd spot.

Here are the complete results of the race.

Leave a Reply