It has never happened in Formula 1. 6 different winners in the first 6 races of a season. The 2012 season has made history with Mark Webber from Red Bull Racing taking the checkered flag at the 2012 Formula 1 Grand Prix De Monaco. And what a fantastic race it was with the top 6 drivers separated by a little over 6 seconds at the finish. Monaco is considered by most to be the hardest track in the calendar with very few areas for passing (if at all), but amidst all the drama, Webber drove a simply superb race to take the win.
Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg, Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Webber’s teammate Sebastian Vettel were all hot on his heels at a time differential of just 1.3s. Webber took the lead at the start and held it from Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, but the Lewis lost third to Alonso during their only pit stop. Felipe Massa seemed to be hot on the heels of Lewis’ McLaren, but in the end it wasn’t enough and he finished the race in 6th place. The Force India duo of Paul di Resta and Nico Hulkenberg drove a superb race and collect some valuable points for the team by finishing in 7th and 8th positions ahead of former World Champion Kimi Raikkonen. Williams’ Bruno Senna rounded out the top 10.
Michael Schumacher, who had the fastest time during qualifying (but was penalized), ran into Romain Grosjean at the start which ended the Frenchman’s race, while Pastor Maldonado damaged his Williams’ front wing in the traffic and also retired. Schumacher and Grosjean are under investigation for their incident.
View the complete results of the race.

The result of the race at Monaco means we have a new leader in the Driver’s Championship. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso leads the pack with 76 points, followed closely by the Red Bull Racing duo of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber who are both tied at 73 points. McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton is fourth with 63 points followed by Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg with 59 points.

View the current driver’s standings.
The teams and drivers will head West next, for the Formula 1 Grand Prix Du Canada 2012 to be held from the 8th to 10th June at the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve in Montreal.

Leave a Reply